500 Free Championship For Verger Gourson On Day Two Of The MPSF Championships

Margaux Verger Gourson
Margaux Verger Gourson

Los Angeles, Calif. - Swimming her signature event at the MPSF Championships on Thursday, Feb. 19, sophomore Margaux Verger Gourson took home her first-ever conference title as she paced the field with an MPSF Championship record time of 4:44.13. The win at the championships finished off a perfect season for the second-year Tiger in the event as she will now wait to see if her 'B' Cut time is good enough to get her to the NCAA Championships later this year.

As she had done all season long, Verger Gourson dominated the mid-distance swim for the Tigers as she finished over :05 seconds faster than her closest competitor, UC Davis' Samant Shellem. Verger Gourson's time of 4:44.13 just missed her own school record time of 4:43.07 which she set earlier this season at UC Santa Barbara. The event victory and MPSF title was the first for the Tigers as members of the MPSF and first conference title for the women since a trio of titles captured at the 2009 Big West Championships.

Attempting to follow suit later in the nightcap of the day, Cristina Mardones just missed a title of her own as she took the silver medal in the 200 IM. Mardones posted a time of 2:01.60 in the individual event to post the top time in 2015 for the Tigers, but was edged out by UC Santa Barbara's Katie Records for the title after the Gaucho swimmer touched in at 2:01.20.

On the men's side, both senior Brandon Chandler and Trent Williams qualified for the finals in their respective events as Chandler swam in the 500 Free while Williams sprinted in the 50 Free. Chandler finished his event in a season-best time of 4:34.61 to take eighth place overall. For Williams, he touched the wall at a season-best time of 20.90 to take a seventh place finish.

On Friday, Feb. 20, the teams will swim the 400 IM, 100 Fly, 200 Free, 100 Breast, 100 Back, and 400 Medley Relay. Prelims will take place in the morning at 10:00 am before the finals of the events kick off at 6:00 pm.