Erdelyi Wins Second-Straight Cutino Award as Nation's Best

Erdelyi Wins Second-Straight Cutino Award as Nation's Best

San Francisco, Calif. - Pacific senior Balazs Erdelyi was named the winner of the Peter J. Cutino Award Saturday night at the Olympic Club of San Francisco. Erdelyi is the fourth player to win men's water polo's national play of the year in back-to-back seasons.

The American Water Polo Coaches Association Player of the Year, Erdelyi led the Tigers to their best season in program history in 2013, as Pacific went 23-5 with the MPSF regular season title and the program's second-ever NCAA berth. The Tigers advanced to the NCAA Championship game before falling to six-time champion USC in overtime.

With a modern-era record of seven goals in the NCAA title game, Erdelyi was named Most Valuable Player of the 2013 NCAA Collegiate Men's Water Polo Championship. Erdelyi's seven goals in the final are the most since the two-point line was removed. He also became the fourth player to win solo MVP honors while bringing home the second place trophy.

Erdelyi set Pacific's single-season record for goals with 96, a mark which was third best in MPSF history. His 3.43 goals per game led the MPSF in scoring.

He scored in each of the final 78 games of his collegiate career, dating back to season opener of his sophomore campaign. He finished with 287 career goals, second all-time in Pacific history.

Erdelyi won the Peter J. Cutino Award over finalists Kostas Genidounias and Nikola Vavic, both of USC. The last repeat winner of the Cutino was J. W. Krumpholz of USC, at the 2009 and 2010 ceremonies. Tony Azevedo of Stanford (2002-2005) and UCLA's Sean Kern (2000-01) are the other repeat winners.